Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Muskegon Community College claims 2019 MCCAA Wrestling Championship

Action from the MCCAA Wrestling Championship
Action from the MCCAA Wrestling Championship

It took 39 years, but Muskegon Community College earned their seventh consecutive MCCAA Wrestling Championship. Muskegon won the last MCCAA title in 1979-80 which was the last season wrestling was a sponsored sport in the MCCAA. The following season it was not a sponsored sports since the less that four MCCAA schools sponsored the sport. This season four schools sponsored the sport and wrestling came back as the MCCAA's thirteenth sport. 

Hosting the tournament, Muskegon Community College collected 97.5 points to claim the championship. Ancilla College had 50 points, edging out Henry Ford College for second. The Hawks had 48 points. St. Clair County Community College was fourth with 20 points. The championship was the Jayhawks' ninth MCCAA wrestling championship. 

In the 125 pound weight class, Dakota Greer of Muskegon Community College scored a technical fall with a 15-0 win over Hunter Lajiness of Henry Ford College. There were no wrestlers in the 133 pound weight class, so that class. In the 141 pound weight class, Michael Carrasco of Muskegon defeated Santo Alverez of Henry Ford College by a score of 3-1 in a tightly contested match. 

In the 149 pound weight class, Austen Laughlin became the first ever wrestler from Ancilla College to win a MCCAA individual title when he dominated Jaycob Bechtol of Muskegon by a score of 15-5. Zach Young of Muskegon Community College defeated Mike Bergmooser of Henry Ford College 16-7 to claim the title in the 157 pound weight class. Blake Ross of Muskegon Community College won the 165 pound weight class by default as there were no other wrestlers in the category. 

In the 174 pound weight class, Dominca Mancina of Henry Ford College scored the fall to win the title over Isiaiah Doyle of Muskegon Community College. Corey Perkins of Muskegon Community College pinned Luke Sinkovic of Ancilla College for the championship of the 184 pound weight class. Tyler VanDerAa of Ancilla College defeated Matthew Lipka of Muskegon 15-5 to win the the 197 pound weight class. In the 285 weight class, Rodolfo Mendez of Muskegon Community College won by default over Jackson Schneck of St. Clair County Community College. 

All of the class winner earned All-MCCAA honors. Dakota Greer was named the MCCAA Wrestler of the Year and James Tietma of Muskegon Community College was named MCCAA Coach of the Year.